NME names the “greatest albums of all time”; loveable, misanthropic British vegan and his pals top list

So, lists. We love them, because they help us make order of things. Strangely, if we don’t make a list of the 50 Singers Who Would Have Been Singers In A Past Life Too, we’ll certainly argue with the merits of the list and who should be ranked higher or lower. Every list is problematic, subjective… and utterly compelling.

NME have picked their top 5 albums of all time, but as I go through the list and get reminded of bands from my teenage years (#499 is a Belly album! Sweet Jesus I haven’t heard that name since 1994!) that I’d long forgotten I will try and comment further. Let me instead leave you with the top 25 and note that the producer of #1, though chuffed, didn’t agree with it:

http://www.nme.com/news/the-smiths/73363

. The Smiths – The Queen Is Dead

2. The Beatles – Revolver

3. David Bowie – Hunky Dory

4. The Strokes – Is This It

5. The Velvet Underground & Nico – The Velvet Underground

6. Pulp – Different Class

7. The Stone Roses – The Stone Roses

8. Pixies – Doolittle

9. The Beatles – The Beatles (White Album)

10. Oasis – Definitely Maybe

11. Nirvana – Nevermind

12. Patti Smith – Horses

13. Arcade Fire – Funeral

14. David Bowie – Low

15. PJ Harvey – Let England Shake

16. Joy Division – Closer

17. Public Enemy – It Takes a Nation of Millions to Hold Us Back

18. My Bloody Valentine – Loveless

19. Arctic Monkeys – Whatever People Say I Am, That’s What I’m Not

20. Radiohead – OK Computer

21. Kanye West – My Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy

22. Blur – Parklife

23. David Bowie – The Rise and Fall of Ziggy Stardust and the Spiders from Mars

24. The Rolling Stones – Exile on Main St

25. Marvin Gaye – What’s Going On

Leave a comment